Week 5: RuPaul

When you become the image of your own imagination, it’s the most powerful thing you could ever do. — RuPaul

Image result for rupaul

Born in San Diego, California on November 17th during the year of 1960, RuPaul Andre Charles decided to grace the world with his presence. This famous television personnel is a man of many hats, not only is he a television personality, he is an actor, dancer, singer, and drag queen. Also, prior to RuPaul’s successful television show and that career, his singing career was extremely successful and he really got his career started. In 2016 and 2017 he received to Emmys for his work with RuPaul’s drag race. Also, when he collaborated with Lady Gaga for season 9, close to one million viewers (ONE MILLION!) tuned in– making it the most viewed episode in the show’s history.

RuPaul resonates with me because I personally, love his show and have great memories of binge watching his different season with close friends. Also, one of my best friends and neighbors from middle school was gay but transitioning into being a transgender female. He has wrestler WWE figures but only played with the girl ones. We also used to play this game online similar to Sims and he always created a girl character. So I have a very personal relationship with people of the LGBTQ community and I consider myself a supporter and ally. So seeing RuPaul be successful makes me happy. I chose to support him in any way I can– especially as a consumer.

Within the context of masculinity, I would deem RuPaul as being confident and secure in his sexuality because he is comfortable and loves himself in and outside of Drag. In class we spoke about RuPaul drag race in regards to queerness and the paradox of sexuality.

So next time your see RuPaul’s Drag Race on television, remember that “we are all born naked and the rest is drag”!

References: https://www.biography.com/people/rupaul-021116

 

Leave a comment